21 January 2020 is 100 years since the birth of The Rt Excellent Errol Walton Barrow

Since it began making financial awards in 1991, the Errol & Nita Barrow Educational Trust has given grants of over $1 million to 150 students to help them fund post graduate degrees in traditional and non-traditional areas of study from Engineering and Forensic Science to Environmental Science and Tourism Development and Management.

Next January marks the 100th anniversary of the birth of The Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow and The Errol & Nita Barrow Educational Trust is staging a Gala Dinner event on Saturday January 18, 2020 at The Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre to celebrate the occasion and raise funds for the provision of more enabling awards. The Governor General, Dame Sandra Mason, GCMG, DA, QC, is the Patron of the Event and will be attending, Prime Minister The Honourable Mia Amor Mottley will be giving the feature address and Professor Sir Hilary Beckles will give a perspective on The Rt Excellency Errol Barrow’s legacy today in Barbados and the region.

The Errol & Nita Barrow Educational Trust was established in 1989 in memory of Errol Walton Barrow and later on with the passing of his sister, Dame Nita Barrow in 1995, it was expanded to recognize the two great Barbadians.

Given their passionate belief in education as a tool of empowering all, the primary purpose of the Trust is to raise funds and make financial awards that will enable Barbadians and Commonwealth Caribbean citizens to pursue a course of study that will further the development of Barbados and the Caribbean.

Since 2017 the Trust has also made an annual award in honour of past trustee, Norma Holder, to a student of Music at the Barbados Community College.

The Trustees welcome those who wish to sponsor this important occasion. Tickets for attending the dinner are on sale right now and will be available on line from TicketPal.com; or Ticket Pal outlets at: Ticket Centre Warrens, Lucky Horseshoe Worthing, Carlton & Emerald City Supermarkets, Origin Limegrove, Cave Shepherd, Broad Street, CS Pharmacy, Digicel, Sky Mall, A&B Soundz, Sheraton Mall and Premier Event Services or the Trustees. All proceeds will go towards funding more enabling grants and the costs of the event. We thank Peter Odle and the Island Inn for sponsoring the launch of this event.

The current trustees of the Trust include Professor Avinash Persaud (Chair), Mr. David Barrow, Dr. Jeannine Comma, Ms. Roma Cozier (Secretary) Mrs. Vivian-Anne Gittens, Dr. Basil Springer, Mr Christopher Harper, Ms. Janelle Chandler and Mr. Geoffrey Ramsey.

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • 1 IMG 20220525 WA0014
  • Genac BB Switch and Save Digital Ad 336 x 2806611
  • TrIDent 1
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen