For the past five (5) years, the twin-island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago had been a regional and international subject of corruption and other types of wrong-doing, all of which attributed to the doom and gloom which befell this country during that period. Trinidad and Tobago was once a haven for meaningful and fruitful investment opportunities, which on most occasions, produced a plethora of benefits and trade and investment advantages for both CARICOM and International communities.

The wings of external stakeholders, particularly investors, may have been clipped in May 2010, as our shores have been unable to attract them since then. To this end, any attempts to influence institutional strengthening and capacity building may have been shelved.

A New Dawn emerged on September 7th, 2015!

A positive wind of change revered in Trinidad and Tobago on Monday 7th September, 2015, when the electorate changed their political guards with the People’s National Movement (PNM) emerging victorious in the General Elections. This victory for the PNM, is testimony that the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago were willing to entrust their confidence in Dr. Keith Christopher Rowley as their new leader to not only manage the affairs of the country, but to also restore the regional and international confidence once enjoyed by T&T.

(IMAGE VIA: Prime Minister Rowley, who has been in active politics for more than 30 years, has vowed to serve all citizens of the country in a fair and equitable manner.

(IMAGE VIA: Prime Minister Rowley, who has been in active politics for more than 30 years, has vowed to serve all citizens of the country in a fair and equitable manner.

There is a sense of immediate readiness to govern as can be gleaned from earlier statements made by PM Rowley while the People’s National Movement was in Opposition “as is the practice whilst in Opposition, we have spent the last five (5) years developing the necessary policies and programmes to re-build our country and our economy, restore confidence, equity, and social justice, and enhance and improve every area of national life.” He added “the end result of this exhaustive exercise, is a wide-ranging and broad-based suite of detailed policy initiatives, programmes and measures that will lift us out of the chaos that has been created by the past regime.”

PM Rowley, the seventh Prime Minister to serve Trinidad and Tobago, is a qualified Geologist who graduated from the University of the West Indies, Mona, Jamaica, with a BSc. in Geology (First Class Honours), an MSc. in Volcanic Stratigraphy, and a PhD in Geochemistry.

Doing More with Less:

Compared to the past regime which comprised of approximately 30 Government Ministers, the Rowley-led cabinet constitutes a smaller, yet enviable team of 24 professionals possessing the skill sets required to manage the affairs of Trinidad and Tobago at this time. The visionary and astute PM Rowley, intends to merge and strategically align current functions into the relevant Ministries, thereby providing for greater efficiency and accountability of operations. The Ministers and their respective portfolios are:


Ministry Portfolio

  1. Faris Al Rawi

Attorney General

  1. Clarence Rambharat

Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries

  1. Maxie Cuffie

Ministry of Communications

  1. Anthony Garcia

Ministry of Education

  1. Nicole Olliviere

Ministry of Energy & Energy Affairs

  1. Colm Imbert

Ministry of Finance

  1. Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly

Ministry of Community Development, Culture and The Arts

  1. Senator Dennis Moses

Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs

  1. Terrence Deyalsingh

Ministry of Health

  1. Marlene McDonald

Ministry of Housing & Urban Development

  1. Senator Jennifer Baptiste-Primus

Ministry of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development

  1. Senator Franklin Khan

Ministry of Rural Development and Local Development

  1. Edmund Dillon

Ministry of National Security

  1. Camille Robinson-Regis

Ministry of Planning & Sustainable Development

  1. Randall Mitchell

Ministry of Public Administration

  1. Ancil Antoine

Ministry of Public Utilities

  1. Darryl Smith

Ministry of Sport

  1. Cherrie-Ann Crichlow-Cockburn

Ministry of Social Development & Family Services

  1. Senator Paula Gopee-Scoon

Ministry of Trade and Industry

  1. Fitzgerald Hinds

Ministry of Works and Transport

  1. Shamfa Cudjoe

Ministry of Tourism

  1. Ayanna Webster-Roy

Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

  1. Stuart Young

Minister in the Office of the Attorney-General

  1. Avinash Singh

Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries

Trinidad and Tobago is now poised to effectively serve its regional and international counterparts with dignity and integrity that would strengthen their bond as ONE PEOPLE!

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • My Bdos Lottery Top Up 20201
  • All Terrain 2021 May 336x280 1
  • SG Creative Right Brain Ad 336x280 01 1
  • Poster7 120x600