David Coulthard heads to Barbados for ROC 2014

Thirteen-time Formula 1 grand prix winner David Coulthard has become the latest driver to sign up for the 2014 Race Of Champions, to be held later this month at the Bushy Park Circuit in Barbados.

Ahead of the individual Race Of Champions on Sunday December 14, Coulthard will partner Williams F1 development driver Susie Wolff – ROC’s first ever female racer – for Team Scotland in the ROC Nations Cup on Saturday December 13.

Coulthard had a glittering F1 career, taking 13 grand prix victories and finishing in the world championship top three no less than five times in over a decade at the top. He later raced in Germany’s DTM championship before retiring from full-time competition to focus on his other interests including his F1 commentary for BBC television.

The Scotsman has a strong pedigree at the Race Of Champions, reaching the Grand Final at London’s Wembley Stadium in 2008. That day he took rally legend Sébastien Loeb to the third heat of the best-of-three final before missing out by the narrowest of margins in the decider. At ROC 2012 in Bangkok Coulthard reached the individual semi-finals before falling to Le Mans great Tom Kristensen.

coulthard flag

Coulthard said: “I always enjoy the Race Of Champions – and it will be a special treat to compete alongside Susie for Team Scotland. Ever since our paths crossed in DTM we’ve known each other well and we’ll do all we can to upset some of the bigger fish in the ROC Nations Cup.

“There’s no doubt we’ll be up against some strong teams in Barbados but you never know what can happen at an event like the Race Of Champions where the smallest mistake can make or break everything. I might not spend so much time in the cockpit these days but I made it to the individual semi-finals last time so I’ll be hoping it still pays to have plenty of experience…”

Coulthard and Wolff join a ROC 2014 line-up featuring stars from all over the world: nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Tom Kristensen, F1’s Romain Grosjean (reigning ROC Champion of Champions), 2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR superstar Kurt Busch, V8 Supercar legend Jamie Whincup, five-time 500cc MotoGP world champion Mick Doohan, 2014 FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg, 2014 World Touring Car Champion José-Maria López and 2014 FIA European F3 Champion Esteban Ocon are already confirmed, with even more on the way.

ROC organiser Fredrik Johnsson added: “It’s great to have DC back at the Race Of Champions and we’re sure he and Susie will do Team Scotland proud. We’re thrilled to have such a varied line-up for ROC 2014 with greats from F1, Le Mans, MotoGP, IndyCar, NASCAR, World Rally, Rallycross and Touring Cars. It will be fascinating to see which of those series produces our winner in Barbados and we hope the world’s race fans will enjoy cheering on their favourites later this month.”

The Race Of Champions, which has been held for over 25 years, brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s major disciplines and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery on a unique track with two parallel lanes linked by a crossover bridge.


Tickets for ROC 2014 are available on-line at www.bushyparkbarbados.com/roc-tickets, also from Automotive Art outlets at Welches, Wildey and Six Roads, Sol gas stations and Digicel Bridgetown and Sheraton; they can be bought using the Cave Shepherd card. Sign up for all the latest updates at www.raceofchampions.com, Race Of Champions on Facebook or @raceofchampions on Twitter.

Drivers already announced for the 2014 Race Of Champions:

  • Tom KRISTENSEN, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Romain GROSJEAN, Lotus F1 Team driver, reigning ROC Champion of Champions
  • Ryan HUNTER-REAY, Indianapolis 500 winner 2014, IndyCar Champion 2012
  • Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
  • Petter SOLBERG, FIA World Rallycross Champion 2014
  • Susie WOLFF, development driver for the Williams F1 team
  • Kurt BUSCH, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion 2004
  • José-Maria LOPEZ, FIA World Touring Car Champion 2014
  • Esteban OCON, FIA European F3 Champion 2014
  • Mick DOOHAN, 500cc MotoGP World Champion 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994
  • David COULTHARD, 13-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • My Bdos Lottery Top Up 20201
  • IMG 20211106 WA0029
  • SG Coop Ad Christmas Cards 336 x 280 01 1
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen 1