Royal Fidelity honoured 10 distinguished, hard working and well loved teachers last Thursday at the Barbados Hilton, for the inaugural Royal Fidelity National Distinguished Teachers Awards. The Barbadian public was asked to vote for their favourite teacher, and from all nominations, the Royal Fidelity Blue Ribbon Judging Panel chose 10 finalists who faced the panel and emerged victorious.

Royal Fidelity reinforced its commitment to education in Barbados with these awards, and felt the award ceremony to be timely during Barbados’ education month.

The Minister of Education and Human Resource Development the Honourable Ronald Jones, was in attendance and delivered an address to an appreciative and inspired ballroom of specially invited guests. President of Royal Fidelity Michael Anderson also spoke and reiterated why Royal Fidelity started this initiative:

Teachers are more vital than ever to the educational process and that is why we are honoring, encouraging and challenging them here today. Capable, skilled, knowledgeable and committed teachers make a huge difference in whether a child develops a passion for learning and how this passion is directed.”

Royal Fidelity shares $20,000 between 10 National Distinguished Teachers

He also gave the teachers some advice: “If Barbados is going to be successful in educating its children to compete in the global market place and enable Barbados to continue to prosper in this ever more challenging economic environment you need to embrace the internet and use it to you and your students advantage

The first 10 teachers to enter the Royal Fidelity National Distinguished Awards Hall of Fame, were: Annette Maynard–Watson of Christ Church Foundation School, Anthony Nurse of Samuel Jackman Precod Polytechnic, Mr. Trevor Marshall of Barbados Community College, Margaret Headley of Roland Edwards Primary School, Ann Hunte of Ellerslie Secondary School, Donna Holder of Erdiston Special School, Anne Tindale of St. Winifred’s School, George Francis of Gordon Greenidge Primary School, Annabelle Thornton of St. Gabriel’s School and Waveney Austin of Princess Margaret Secondary School.

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • Platinum 7 336x280 1
  • Main Template 336x280
  • TrIDent 1
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen