KFC Ellerslie Off-Spinner Makes Second Trip With National Under-15 Squad

KFC Ellerslie and Barbados Under-15 off-spinner, Neil Persaud, will be hoping to spin his way to success in this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Under-15 Tournament, currently underway in Trinidad & Tobago.

For the second consecutive year KFC Ellerslie off-spinner, Neil Persaud, is off to represent Barbados as a member of the National Under-15 cricket team.

The 15-year old Persaud joins 13 other juniors from secondary schools across Barbados taking take part in this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Under-15 Tournament being held in Trinidad & Tobago from Saturday July 2 – Saturday, July 16, 2011.

Enrolled in the University of The West Indies’ (UWI) Institute for Cricket Excellence, Persaud is among a number of young players who have been receiving expert coaching instruction to improve their game in an effort to raise performance levels and returns at regional and international tournaments.

Excited to be selected again this year, Persaud said he was ready to give of his best having had the experience of last year under his belt:

This is my second year with the team, and I’m eager to get out onto the field and do Barbados and the rest of my teammates at KFC Ellerslie proud. I’ve been training hard over the last year and I look forward to having a big impact on this year’s tournament given the experience gained from playing last year.”

The team, led by talented Alexandra Secondary School all-rounder, Joshua Drakes, and coached by Dexter Toppin, and managed by Roland Butcher left for the twin-island republic on Thursday, June 30, 2011.

The full squad reads; Joshua Drakes (captain, Alexandra), Andrew Clarke (Queen’s College), Alex Fergusson (St. Michael), Lee-Germon Gaskin (Foundation), Akil Greenidge (Harrison College & Dulwich College, England), Kyle Hinkson (Harrison College), Matthew Jones (Combermere), Romar Miller (St. Leonard’s), Neil Persaud (KFC Ellerslie), Shakeel Richards (Grantley Adams), Tariq Shorey (Lodge), Demar Thorne (Combermere), Jafari Toppin (Garrison), and Chad Williams (Combermere).

Additional reserves include Robert Cave (St. Michael), Hakeem Gomez (Garrison), Keon Harding (Combermere), and Ricardo Small-Boyce (Queen’s College).

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • 1 IMG 20220525 WA0014
  • Chef Richelle v6
  • TrIDent 1
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen