Elite Athlete Grant for Trinidad & Tobago Cricketers – West Indies Players Association does not gripe for once

Speaking during a Presentation of Awardees function for the Elite Athlete Grant for Cricketers, WIPA President, Dinanath Ramnarine praised the Minister of Sport and Youth Affair for his foresight and understanding in developing this grant for Trinidad & Tobago players.

The grant allows the best players to pursue their goals, practise more regularly and play cricket full-time while relieving the heavy burden and difficult choice of having to choose between a full-time job and their cricketing requirements that would allow them to perform consistently at a high level.

Women TT Cricketers: Anisa Mohammed, Alisa Mohammed, Stacey Ann Kin, Gaitri Seetahal, Britney Cooper, Merissa Aguilleira, Kirbyna Alexander

Today is a very historic day in Trinidad and Tobago’s cricket, indeed West Indies cricket. The players are finally put in the forefront by being given the necessary support and more importantly the financial security that is so desperately needed at this time.”

To secure our future in this glorious game of ours, we need to be able to find natural talent, develop that talent and make sure that when a young man or woman picks up a bat or a cricket ball, they can do so with the belief that they can dedicate their life to their calling. Their passion can become their profession.”

The WIPA President stated that this is a very positive step and it is his organization’s hope that other countries within the region would see the need to adopt similar measures to encourage the holistic development of our players.

National Senior TT Cricketers: Daren Ganga, Denesh Ramdin, Dave Mohammed, Lendl Simmons, Rayad Emrit, Sherwin Ganga, Richard Kelly, Jason Mohammed, Shannon Gabriel, Sunil Narine, Kevon Cooper, Samuel Badree, Navin Stewart, Runako Morton, Amit Jaggernauth, William Perkins, Gibran Mohammed, Justin Guillen, Imran Khan, Atiba Allert

Ramnarine also recognized Sports Ambassador and cricket player, Daren Ganga, for his selflessness and leadership off-the-field in driving the momentum forward on this crucial mission for the well-being of his fellow cricketers.

To our talented players, the professionals, these elite standouts, please understand the spirit of this grant you have received today. This is an incentive and recognition for you to train hard, play hard and excel in the game you all love. I urge you to accept with both hands as the stars are the limit.”

Reserve Cricketers: Aneil Kanhai, Emile Rajah, Shervon Penco, Akeil Cooper, Tishan Maraj, Nicholas Sookdeosingh, Kavesh Kantasingh, Marlon Richards, Kjorn Ottley, Magnum Nanan, Evin Lewis, Derone Davis.

The WIPA President emphasised the immense value of this opportunity to the future of cricket, and how it contributes to a better quality of life for cricketers, and thereby, a better quality of game for the fans.

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • My Bdos Lottery Top Up 20201
  • Cloud Vision Academy 2022 Sept 336x280 1
  • SG Coop Ad Gift Vouchers 336 x 280
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen 1