National Art Gallery Committee of Barbados continues Restoration Project of Montefiore Fountain

NAGC CONSERVATION PROGRAMME WORKING TO RESTORE THE MONTEFIORE FOUNTAIN

NAGC CONSERVATION PROGRAMME WORKING TO RESTORE THE MONTEFIORE FOUNTAIN

Barbados’ National Art Gallery Committee is pleased to announce the continuation of it’s Conservation and Education programme with the visit of the Puerto Rican objects conservator Mr. Angel Santiago-Torres.

Mr. Santiago-Torres is currently restoring the Montefiore Fountain, a public monument dating back to 1864 and located opposite the Coleridge Street Library.

This fountain previously located at Beckwith Place and moved to its present location in 1940, was given to the city by John Montefiore as a memorial to his father, John Castello Montefiore who died from Cholera in 1854.

This Monument is one of the many fine examples of unique Barbadian built heritage that can be found in the area which has prompted the bid for the nomination of Bridgetown and the Garrison as a World Heritage Site.

The Ministry of Transport and Works and the National Conservation Commission are assisting with this important restoration activity.

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Comments

add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.