Windies middle order batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan has been named the Guyanese Cricketer of the Year.

Ramnaresh Sarwan(3)The announcement was made at the Guyana Cricket Board annual awards ceremony in Georgetown.

Despite finishing 2009 on a low, Sarwan had a tremendous year with the bat overall, registering four centuries as he notched up 850 runs at an average of 60.71 during the calendar year.

All of Sarwan’s tons were scored against England, inclusive of a career best 291 in Barbados during the Digicel Series. In that series Sarwan scored another two triple figure scores and added another in England a few weeks later.

In the Digicel Series Sarwan scored 662 runs at an astonishing average of 104.33.

Meanwhile Narsingh Deonarine was named Senior Cricketer of the Year and took home the Clive Lloyd Trophy. Deonarine had a record breaking season in 2009 and it resulted in a recall to the West Indies senior team. Deonarine became the first batsman to score 1000 runs in a season and is one of only three batsmen to have achieved the feat (the other two being Runako Morton and Floyd Reifer).

Assad Fudadin was adjudged the Guyanese Domestic Cricketer of the Year and won the Rohan Kanhai Trophy while Royston Crandon bagged the Most Improved Cricketer Award and secured the Lance Gibbs Trophy.

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.