Stanford 20/20 announces Stanford Superstars 17 man squad

Sir Vivian Richards, chairman of the Stanford Superstars Selection Panel announced the much anticipated 17 man Stanford Superstars squad to face England in the Stanford 20/20 For US $20 million on November 1 at the Stanford Cricket Ground in Antigua.

The Stanford Superstars squad is:

1. Lionel Baker (Montserrat)

2. Sulieman Benn (Barbados)

3. Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad and Tobago)

4. Shivnarine Chanderpaul (Guyana)

5. Lennox Cush (Guyana)

6. Rayad Emrit (Trinidad and Tobago)

7. Andre Fletcher (Grenada)

8. Chris Gayle (Jamaica)

9. Chad Hampson (Antigua and Barbuda)

10. Lindon James (St Vincent and the Grenadines)

11. Sylvester Joseph (Antigua and Barbuda)

12. Xavier Marshall (Jamaica)

13. Dave Mohammed (Trinidad and Tobago)

14. Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago)

15. Daren Powell (Jamaica)

16. Ramnaresh Sarwan (Guyana)

17. Jerome Taylor (Jamaica)

?We (the Stanford Superstars Selection Panel) believe this squad is very capable of doing justice to their selection to the Stanford Superstars squad to face England for the unprecedented purse of US $20 million,? Sir Vivian said.

?There are several familiar faces in this Stanford Superstars squad but there are some exciting new additions such as Lindon James, Lionel Baker and Chad Hampson and this was due to the fact that there were some high quality performances from these individuals in the Stanford 20/20 Tournaments and they were also very impressive in the just concluded Stanford Superstars camp,? Sir Vivian pointed out.

The Stanford Superstars camp was held in Antigua over the past two weeks and 31 players participated while Chanderpaul who is fulfilling his English county contract with Durham was excused but remained eligible for selection to the Stanford Superstars squad.

During the camp the players were engaged in fitness work, upgrading their cricket skills, video analysis of their game and also competed in seven extremely competitive practice games where several players turned in outstanding performances.

All the selected players were presented with contracts for review and consideration and they will have 14 days to confirm their participation.

The Stanford Superstars Selection Panel will convene at a later date to select the captain and vice captain.

The 17 member Stanford Superstars squad will be engaged in a preparatory camp in Antigua on a date to be announced.

The Stanford Superstars Selection Panel also includes Sir Everton Weekes, Curtly Ambrose, Lance Gibbs, Richie Richardson, Andy Roberts and Courtney Walsh.

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • Cash Bash 2022 May
  • GenacBB Web Ads 336 x 280
  • TSSG Report Workshop
  • BR2 If you saw this then you came to the best place to get seen