Stanford Super Series: SKY-tv coverage of clash of champions confirmed as Stanford 20/20 announces Stanford Superstars training squad

Stanford 20/20 Cricket and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed today that the winners of Saturday?s Twenty20 Cup will face 2008 Stanford 20/20 regional tournament champions Trinidad and Tobago as part of the Stanford Super Series. The Domestic Champions winner-takes-all final will be one of six games broadcast exclusively live in the UK by Sky Sports in a deal which includes the finale of the week, the Stanford 20/20 for 20.

This announcement is a timely boost for Saturday?s finalists with the added incentive of securing an appearance at the Stanford Cricket Ground on Monday, October 27th. Waiting will be Trinidad and Tobago who defeated Jamaica earlier this year in the 2008 Stanford 20/20 final. A total purse of US$400,000 will be riding on the result.

David Collier, the ECB chief executive, said: “The Stanford Super Series offers a real incentive to the final four sides in tomorrow?s (Saturday) Twenty20 Cup final at The Rose Bowl. I am sure that Durham, Essex, Kent and Middlesex will all be excited at the prospect of travelling to Antigua in October.”

For the Twenty20 Cup winners, the Stanford Super Series will also bring real benefits and will allow the players to showcase their talents against the Stanford 20/20 champions from the Caribbean.

Twenty20 cricket fans will be treated to a hectic week as Stanford stages a series of intriguing clashes pitting country against county, and the Stanford Superstars against Trinidad and Tobago.


Sir Vivian Richards, chairman of the Stanford 20/20 selection panel announced an exciting and diverse group of players in a 32 man Stanford Superstars training squad to prepare for the Stanford 20/20 for US$20M match against England on November 1 in Antigua.

Senior West Indies quartet of Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Dwayne Bravo are the most notable names in the squad which also includes Stanford 20/20 2008 Player of the Tournament Dave Mohammed, the left arm spinner from Trinidad and Tobago.

Also included is Mohammed?s Trinidad and Tobago team mate and leg spinner Samuel Badree while dynamic United States Virgin Islands wicketkeeper Aldermond Lesmond is the fourth wicketkeeper in the squad along with Trinidadian Denesh Ramdin, Lyndon James of St Vincent and the Grenadines and Andre Fletcher of Grenada.

The seven member selection panel also includes legends Sir Everton Weekes, Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose, Andy Roberts, Lance Gibbs and Richie Richardson.

Dashing 18 year old Nevisian left handed opening batsman Kieran Powell who hit a first ball six in the inaugural Stanford 20/20 Tournament in 2006 is one of six opening batsmen in the squad along with Gayle, Fletcher, Barbadian born Trinidad and Tobago opener William Perkins, Jamaican Xavier Marshall and Guyanese Travis Dowlin.

The only man to have scored a century in Stanford 20/20 cricket, 37 year old John Eugene of St Maarten is the oldest player in the squad which has an eclectic mix of young, exciting players, players who are now breaking into the international cricket scene and more experienced professionals.

Former Antigua and Barbuda and West Indies player Eldine Baptiste has been appointed head coach of the Stanford Superstars squad and he will have Roger Harper, the former West Indies and Kenya coach as his assistant along with Anguilla coach Cardigan Connor.

The number of players in the final playing squad and the dates of the preparatory camps will be announced once the details have been confirmed.

Stanford Superstars squad:

Samuel Badree (Trinidad and Tobago),

Lionel Baker (Montserrat),

Sulieman Benn (Barbados),

Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad and Tobago),

Jonathan Carter (Barbados),

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (Guyana),

Lennox Cush (Guyana),

Travis Dowlin (Guyana),

Rayad Emrit (Trinidad and Tobago),

John Eugene (St Maarten),

Andre Fletcher (Grenada),

Daren Ganga (Trinidad and Tobago),

Chris Gayle (Jamaica),

Chad Hampson (Antigua and Barbuda),

Monctin Hodge (Anguilla),

Danza Hyatt (Jamaica),

Lyndon James (St Vincent and the Grenadines),

Sylvester Joseph (Antigua and Barbuda),

Aldermond Lesmond (United States Virgin Islands),

Xavier Marshall (Jamaica),

Dave Mohammed (Trinidad and Tobago),

Nelon Pascal (Grenada),

William Perkins (Trinidad and Tobago),

Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago),

Daren Powell (Jamaica),

Kieran Powell (Nevis),

Denesh Ramdin (Trinidad and Tobago),

Darren Sammy (St Lucia),

Ramnaresh Sarwan (Guyana),

Jerome Taylor (Jamaica),

Kelbert Walters (Anguilla),

Tonito Willett (Nevis)

Follow on Instagram

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.


add a comment

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

  • My Bdos Lottery Top Up 20201
  • Cloud Vision Academy 2022 Sept 336x280 1
  • SouGrfx Co Op Ad 336 x 280 01
  • 120x600 GEL 100th Anniversary Comp